Asset Performance 4.0 Award

AP 4.0 Award Sitech

BEMAS, the Belgian Maintenance Association, organises the Asset Performance Awards to highlight achievements in maintenance and asset management

In these times of Industry 4.0, the Internet of Things, predictive analytics and Big Data will increasingly become part of maintenance teams' toolbox. The most innovative digital transformation, focusing on maintenance, asset reliability and availability, will be awarded. This can be either a technical executive or an organisational improvement.

How to participate in 2024

The requested input for your participation in the contest is quite limited:

  • Fill out a short online survey
  • When you are selected as one of the finalists, you give a 30 minute presentation on Wednesday 13 November 2024 about your project during the Asset Performance 4.0 Conference.
  • The awards will be presented on the Award Night, Wednesday evening 13 November 2024.

The questions and presentation motivate you to make a powerful synthesis of the realizations of you and your team. In this way, your presentation will also become an interesting internal working document for anyone who wants to be informed quickly about the operation of the project that has been carried out. In short, an interesting exercise that will teach you a lot.


Since 1998, BEMAS has been organising competitions to award innovations and achievements in the world of Maintenance and Asset Management. Thus, until 2018, there was the annual Maintenance Manager of the Year election, a prestigious title that gave due recognition to the manager concerned and his or her team for their daily commitment to continuous maintenance improvement. In 2019, the name was changed to Technical Team of the Year, shifting the focus to the entire team for their meritorious performance and approach to maintenance and management of technical assets. 

Since 2019, BEMAS also organizes the Asset Performance 4.0 Award, recognizing the increasing intelligence and digitalization of machinery and maintenance. Did you miss the first online edition? The awards show, with keynote by Jeroen De Flander, was livestreamed on YouTube, attracting over 200 viewers. Re-watch the keynote and awards show here. In 2021, Sitech Services won the AP 4.0 award. The Award Show was graced by Peter Hinssen, with a keynote on "The Day after tomorrow in Asset Performance". Watch the recording of that evening.


Why participate?

  • Give a nice incentive to your project team.
  • Show that you are proud of the achievements of your organisation and the employees in your team. 
  • Increase the image of your department and/or your team and company. 
  • Improve the commitment and pride of your employees. 
  • Discover additional opportunities for improvement through interaction with the jury.
  • Limited amount of time to help you and your company move forward.

Hall of Fame

Discover who won the award in the past years.

Laureates Maintenance Manager of the Year

  • 2017 - Maxine Frimpong & Ann Van Look - BASF Antwerpen
  • 2016 - Bert Pieters - PepsiCo Veurne
  • 2015 - Abdellah Azzin & Paul Corgin - GSK
  • 2014 - Claude Schuler - SONACA Gosselies
  • 2013 - Marc Begijn - Volvo Car Gent
  • 2012 - Harold Villers - ArcelorMittal Liège - Site Marchin
  • 2011 - Frédéric Deleuze - CBR - Heidelberg Cement Group
  • 2010 - François Depelsenaire - NGK Ceramics Europe
  • 2009 - Erwin Bovyn - SPE-Luminus
  • 2008 - Jan Vanbroekhoven - Philips Innovative Applications
  • 2007 - Pasquale Sinapi - Caterpillar Belgium
  • 2006 - Herman Aerts - Borealis
  • 2005 - Benoît Noël - Industeel
  • 2004 - Guido Aerts - Exxon Mobil Chemical Belgium
  • 2003 - Jos Groffils - DSM Speciality Compounds
  • 2002 - Erik Creemers - Fina Antwerp Olefins
  • 2001 - Hans De Backker - Janssen Pharmaceutica
  • 2000 - Wout Theuws - Bosal Benelux
  • 1999 - Robert Vander Putten - Schneider Electric
  • 1998 - Daniël Vandendaul - Baxter

BEMAS Corporate Sponsors